ISO/IEC 27000 | IT Knowledge Portal

ISO/IEC 27000

About ISO

ISO (International Organization for Standardization) is the world's largest developer and publisher of International Standards.


ISO is a network of the national standards institutes of 163 countries, one member per country, with a Central Secretariat in Geneva, Switzerland, that coordinates the system.


ISO is a non-governmental organization that forms a bridge between the public and private sectors. On the one hand, many of its member institutes are part of the governmental structure of their countries, or are mandated by their government. On the other hand, other members have their roots uniquely in the private sector, having been set up by national partnerships of industry associations.


Therefore, ISO enables a consensus to be reached on solutions that meet both the requirements of business and the broader needs of society.


Because "International Organization for Standardization" would have different acronyms in different languages ("IOS" in English for International Organization for Standardization, "OIN" in French for Organisation internationale de normalisation), its founders decided to give it also a short, all-purpose name. They chose "ISO", derived from the Greek isos, meaning "equal". Whatever the country, whatever the language, the short form of the organization's name is always ISO. The official languages are English, French and Russian.


About IEC

Activity of ISO includes almost all sectors of economy, except electrotechnical sector, which is under the main activity of International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). Some activities are carried out together with IEC and they had founded a joint technical committee ISO/IEC JTC1 “Information Technologies”.


The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) is a not-for-profit, non-governmental international standards organization that prepares and publishes International Standards for all electrical, electronic and related technologies - collectively known as "electrotechnology". IEC standards cover a vast range of technologies from power generation, transmission and distribution to home appliances and office equipment, semiconductors, fibre optics, batteries, solar energy, nanotechnology and marine energy as well as many others. The IEC also manages three global conformity assessment systems that certify whether equipment, system or components conform to its International Standards.


ISO/IEC 27000


International Organization for Standardization/ International Electrotechnical Commission Acronym ISO/IEC 20000 Logo
ISO/IEC 27000 International Organization for Standardization/ International Electrotechnical Commission: ISO/IEC 27000


The international and independent ISO/IEC standards in the 27000 series provide best practices and requirements on Information Security. ISO/IEC 27002 is the Code of Practice (formerly numbered ISO/IEC 17799). It provides best practice recommendations on Information Security Management for those who are responsible for initiating, implementing or maintaining Information Security Management Systems.

© 2017 Association of Modern Technologies Professionals